US: 1-941-4621-069
  
Cyprus: 3-572-2052-781

Go Back   ISPsystem.com Forums > ISPmanager > Troubleshooting

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-20-2010, 05:46 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
tjnewman is on a distinguished road
Default Subdomain Problems

Hi There

I have a domain "example.com" setup within ISPManager. I have successfully setup a SSL certificate for the domain. I also have a subdomain "billing.example.com" setup, which works fine. As the SSL certificate for "example.com" doesn't cover subdomains, I'm looking to place "billing.example.com" on a different IP address so that the subdomain can have it's own SSL certificate.

When I transfer the subdomain onto a different IP address, whenever I try to access the subdomain I am presented with the content of the "example.com" domain, instead of the "billing.example.com" content. Does anyone know why this is happening?

I've checked that the DNS A record is mapped to the new IP.


Regards

Tom
tjnewman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 07:43 PM   #2
ISPsystem team
 
slava's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: ISPsystem
Posts: 588
slava is on a distinguished road
Default

You change the record in the DNS, but DNS cache is not updated immediately. While not updated DNS cache you connect to the server at the old IP-address (this can be checked using the command ping domain.name). So you can see a completely different site's content, not the content that you want to see.
slava is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dns, subdomain

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:33 PM.