US: 1-941-4621-069
  
Cyprus: 3-572-2052-781

Go Back   ISPsystem.com Forums > ISPmanager > Troubleshooting


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-17-2011, 02:42 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 12
BenHippynet is on a distinguished road
Default Slave server advice

I have been running one ISPManager server and have just added a second today. I would like to use the second ISPManager server as my secondary name server if possible?

I've added the second server as a slave server. Under the DNS settings on the first server I also added the second server as a slave name server. Did I need to do this or is just setting it as a slave server enough?

When I switch into the second server's control pannel and look at domain names there are none listed so I'm guessing none have been transfered from the first server.

How do I set this up?

Thanks guys
BenHippynet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 07:45 PM   #2
ISPsystem team
 
slava's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: ISPsystem
Posts: 588
slava is on a distinguished road
Default

Hello, yes, it possible (secondary name server in ISPmanager)
You should connect the second server in the domain names menu - external name server on first (master) server. The connection must be with administrator rights. Domain zones are created in the first server will be created on the second server as a slave DNS in the named (bind) configuration file. This records is not visible in the ISPmanager interface on slave server.

Also, you may need to configure option ispmgr.conf such as DomainSlaveZonesPath for correct path to files with dns zones.
slava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 04:17 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 12
BenHippynet is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks. I've done that and I've now got the red cross logo on the first server's DNS module allowing a forced update to the second server so a guess that means it's working?

Am I able to add the first server as a slave for the second server too, so both servers are master and slave for each other?

Thanks for your help.
BenHippynet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 04:23 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 12
BenHippynet is on a distinguished road
Default

I've just tried adding the first server as a slave name server for the second but got the message:

"You have entered a wrong username/password combination or you do not have remote access permissions"

though the username and password are correct for root.
BenHippynet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 05:21 PM   #5
ISPsystem team
 
slava's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: ISPsystem
Posts: 588
slava is on a distinguished road
Default

What you see in /usr/local/ispmgr/var/ispmgr.log?
slava is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:18 AM.