US: 1-941-4621-069
  
Cyprus: 3-572-2052-781

Go Back   ISPsystem.com Forums > ISPmanager > How-To Guides

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-27-2010, 06:41 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 12
loevstroem is on a distinguished road
Default Wildcard subdomains using ISPManager Pro

Hi all,

I'm having some trouble setting up wildcard subdomains with ISPManager Pro. I have only been able to get this working using Plesk, but since I recently switched to ISPManager Pro I want to achieve the same results.

So far I've created my domain domain.com, and as an alias I have www.domain.com and *.domain.com.

In addition I've setup a DNS A record pointing at the IP-adress of my server (*.domain.com A 109.123.**.**)
When trying to visit a subdomain test.domain.com unfortunately I'm getting "page could not be found".

Does anyone have experience by configuring wildcarded subdomains? It would be awesome if someone could provide a simple how-to guide.

Thanks in advance
loevstroem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 08:37 PM   #2
ISPsystem team
 
slava's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: ISPsystem
Posts: 588
slava is on a distinguished road
Default

1. You need delegate domain into your server http://en.ispdoc.com/index.php/Сusto..._in_ISPmanager
2. DNS cache will be updating during 24-48 hours.
slava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 06:13 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 12
loevstroem is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slava View Post
1. You need delegate domain into your server http://en.ispdoc.com/index.php/Сusto..._in_ISPmanager
2. DNS cache will be updating during 24-48 hours.
That should be what I described above:

*.domain.com A 109.123.**.** (masked my IP)

- Only 24 hrs went now, so I guess I'll have to wait a bit longer to see if it works!
loevstroem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2010, 04:42 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 12
loevstroem is on a distinguished road
Default

I have yet to get wildcard subdomains working with ISPManager Pro!

Slava, could you possible provide further feedback on my method of trying to get this working?

EDIT:

Seems I did not have my primary DNS setup correctly. This issue is now resolved!

Last edited by loevstroem; 08-01-2010 at 04:27 PM.
loevstroem is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dns, subdomain, wildcard

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:16 PM.