ISPsystem.com Forums

ISPsystem.com Forums (http://forum.ispsystem.com//index.php)
-   Troubleshooting (http://forum.ispsystem.com//forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   [Cluster] Server Role (http://forum.ispsystem.com//showthread.php?t=1184)

mtk 11-01-2010 06:22 PM

[Cluster] Server Role
 
Hello,
can a server have 2 roles: i.e MASTER node + HTTP node
and when I add an addition server split the role into 2 servers?

mtk 11-14-2010 02:47 AM

sorry, buying a 1900EURO license and figuring it by myself is not an option...

mtk 12-29-2010 03:56 PM

one month and a half later.... :S

mtk 01-16-2011 06:43 PM

and 2 weeks more...

Sergik 01-17-2011 03:58 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mtk (Post 4811)
Hello,
can a server have 2 roles: i.e MASTER node + HTTP node
and when I add an addition server split the role into 2 servers?

No problem to do that.

mtk 01-17-2011 11:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sergik (Post 5033)
No problem to do that.

so I simply add a new server with the same role, and just shut down the services on the shared server (the one with 2 roles)?

if so, I could basically install one of these 2 schemes:
  1. one server split into 4 VMs. each VM will have one service (master, node, db, storage).
  2. 2 dedicated servers with all 4 services on each machine.
    maybe even a PRO license and then upgrade to CLUSTER.
when possible, I'll buy more servers and take responsibility out of the VM into a dedicated machine.


could you please explain how to do this, I don't see if this is possible with the new Installer...?

SunX 01-17-2011 12:22 PM

Hello.

Quote:

Originally Posted by mtk (Post 5035)
so I simply add a new server with the same role, and just shut down the services on the shared server (the one with 2 roles)?

Yes, also you may need to reconfigure some services because of changing IP-address

Quote:

if so, I could basically install one of these 2 schemes:
  1. one server split into 4 VMs. each VM will have one service (master, node, db, storage).
  2. 2 dedicated servers with all 4 services on each machine.
    maybe even a PRO license and then upgrade to CLUSTER.
when possible, I'll buy more servers and take responsibility out of the VM into a dedicated machine.
You may use VMs, but it is very not optimal - it is better to use at least 3 dedicated servers for cluster:
1 - Storage
2 - MySQL
3 - Master + HTTP
As for 2 Dedicated servers, i think it is wrong way - there is no way to upgrade ISPmanager Pro to ISPmanager Cluster and Cluster should use shard Storage

mtk 01-17-2011 12:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SunX (Post 5038)
Yes, also you may need to reconfigure some services because of changing IP-address

I understand Cluster is designed for only 2 MySQL server and 2 Storage server, right?
is this the same case for master and/or httpd nodes?

Quote:

Originally Posted by SunX (Post 5038)
You may use VMs, but it is very not optimal - it is better to use at least 3 dedicated servers for cluster:
1 - Storage
2 - MySQL
3 - Master + HTTP
As for 2 Dedicated servers, i think it is wrong way - there is no way to upgrade ISPmanager Pro to ISPmanager Cluster and Cluster should use shard Storage

I know it's not optimal, I'm currently using one of my strongest servers for another shared hosting solution, so I would like to "squeeze" everything on one server split into VMs, and then move all clients from the other shared solution so the strong server will be empty to load-balance...

galaxymike 01-27-2011 05:14 AM

Quote:

I understand Cluster is designed for only 2 MySQL server and 2 Storage server, right?
Yes, you're right.

Quote:

is this the same case for master and/or httpd nodes?
At the present time we support only one master node, however, in a short time we are going to add a support for multiple master nodes. You can use unlimited number of http nodes.

mtk 01-27-2011 04:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by galaxymike (Post 5092)
Yes, you're right.


At the present time we support only one master node, however, in a short time we are going to add a support for multiple master nodes. You can use unlimited number of http nodes.

so basically the situation shown here: http://www.ispsystem.com/en/software...nager/cluster/
is a lie?!

lucky me I asked before purchasing...


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.