PDA

View Full Version : IPv6 Support


flaviocu
09-22-2004, 12:38 PM
Hi

Does ISPmanager support IPv6? We are offering IPv6 to our customers and would like to have the hosting on IPv6 as well. If there is any way to get this going, we would love to have it. ISPmanager is Apache2 ready as far as i can tell, so this should be no big thing (change the Listen/NameVirtualHost/VirtualHost) directives.

ISPmanager would be the first control panel to support this, could bring you some publicity too!

Thank you very much

Flavio

Igor
09-25-2004, 08:46 AM
Good idea.
we'll investigate the question.

Igor
09-27-2004, 06:19 AM
one question.
as i see apache can have virtual hosts with ip4 and ip6 both
something like this:
-----------------------------
Listen [3ffe:ffff:100::2]:80
Listen 1.2.3.4:80
<VirtualHost [3ffe:ffff:100::2]:80 1.2.3.4:80>
ServerName ipv6andipv4.yourdomain.yourtopleveldomain
# ...sure more config lines
</VirtualHost>
-----------------------------

should we support such posability
or enought to support only one of ip version per virtualhost
like this:
-----------------------------
Listen [3ffe:ffff:100::2]:80
Listen 1.2.3.4:80
<VirtualHost [3ffe:ffff:100::2]:80>
ServerName ipv6.yourdomain.yourtopleveldomain
# ...sure more config lines
</VirtualHost>
<VirtualHost 1.2.3.4:80>
ServerName another.yourdomain.yourtopleveldomain
# ...sure more config lines
</VirtualHost>
-----------------------------

please advice.
what do you prefer?

flaviocu
09-27-2004, 12:22 PM
hmm, this is a very good question. What I would prefer is the following: all ipv4 hosts should be reachable through ipv6 as well:
<VirtualHost 192.168.1.1:80 [2001:8a8::1]:80>
DocumentRoot /www/server1
ServerName server.example.com
ServerAlias server
</VirtualHost>

Maybe every ip-address could actually be a pair, where either v6 or v4 addresses are assigned to (or both), so one could have ssl on v6 too (running on a seperate ip address)

Thank you

Flavio

PS: for DNS, it's imho enough to just support an AAAA Record.

dren
08-13-2011, 04:58 PM
Dear ISPSystem,

1. I would like to have the option to choose an IPv4 & IPv6 (optional) address when enabled in ISPManager to host websites side by side IPv4 and IPv6.

IPv6 address for customer could be enabled/disabled with a checkbox, like with SSH or PHP. With the IPv4 ARIN allocations already exhausted it will only be some # of years before people will ask for pure IPv6 only hosting. I think it would be wise for your panel to support IPv4 & IPv6 in the meantime during this transition.

2. When adding IP addresses In ISPManager you should be able to specify interface for IPv6 tunnels/etc.

hmm, this is a very good question. What I would prefer is the following: all ipv4 hosts should be reachable through ipv6 as well:
<VirtualHost 192.168.1.1:80 [2001:8a8::1]:80>
DocumentRoot /www/server1
ServerName server.example.com
ServerAlias server
</VirtualHost>

Maybe every ip-address could actually be a pair, where either v6 or v4 addresses are assigned to (or both), so one could have ssl on v6 too (running on a seperate ip address)

Thank you

Flavio

PS: for DNS, it's imho enough to just support an AAAA Record.

vian
08-15-2011, 08:12 AM
to enable ipv6 support in ISPmanager add "Option AllowIpV6" in ispmgr.conf